2017 Notes from the Field Results

The Flyway staff is thrilled to award the Grand Prize of $500.00 and publication to Amanda Jaros, for her intricately braided essay “Blood Mountain”.

The journal would also like to recognize the following honorable mentions:

Lisa Laughlin – “A Science and an Art”
Jeanine Pfeiffer – “Where the Buffalo Roam”
Eli Knapp – “Searching for a Landscape Identity”
Sage Webb – “Mahogany Pilgrimage”
Amy Miller – “How Does Your Garden Grow: A Garden Lexicon” 

The editorial staff was truly overwhelmed with the breadth and quality of this year’s submissions. This was the most successful CNF competition Flyway has administered since the journal’s adoption of Submittable. The competition among finalists was fierce. Look out for several of these notable works in our forthcoming Spring 2018 issue.

Congratulations to Amanda and all the worthy HMs. 

The author: Debra Marquart